Nothing says “America” like good ol’ fashioned baseball and torrential grindcore. Combine the two and you’ve got Puig Destroyer, one of the most amazing bands to ever represent baseball in the hardcore arena. Today the band has announced they’ve joined forces with No Sleep Records and will be releasing their new self-titled record digitally on September 30th, which just so happens to be the first day of the MLB Postseason. Pre-order the record now at https://nosleeprecords.com/product/7350.

In addition to the band signing to No Sleep, Puig Destroyer has also released their first new song called “Mike Trout” today with MetalSucks.net. The song pays homage to Mike Trout, the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’s 2014 All-Star MVP outfielder, with a crushing, neck-breaking grindcore anthem that shout’s “No doubt, Mike Trout, he can do everything!”

“Going in, we knew we wanted a song about Mike Trout on this record,” says vocalist Mike Minnick. “Riley [Breckenridge] is a die-hard Angels fan, and all of us love watching the guy play. You want to see every at-bat, every insane defensive play, just like Puig. He’s absolutely electrifying.”

Listen to “Mike Trout” streaming all over Metalsucks.net

Inspired by Los Angeles Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig, Puig Destroyer came together just as the outfielder was settling into his rookie year in 2013. They are a “virtual band,” something that wouldn’t have been conceivable 10 years ago. Riley Breckenridge, drummer of post-hardcore legends Thrice, records his drum tracks in Orange County and Ian Miller, bassist of Kowloon Walled City, lays down the bass in his home studio in Oakland. Mike Minnick, erstwhile singer of metalcore greats Curl Up and Die, does his vocals in Chicago. Scott Evans records fellow KWC collaborator Jon Howell’s guitar and mixes their records in his Oakland studio, Antisleep Audio.

The results speak for themselves. Breckenridge’s blast beats tangle tantalizingly with Miller’s old-school hardcore “melodies”; Howell’s avant-metal guitar playing adds an extra dimension not usually found in grindcore. Minnick’s epic, impassioned screams are the rug that ties the room together. All the songs are about baseball, of course, inspired Yasiel Puig’s no-holds-barred style of play.

The self-titled EP blew up on bandcamp and the music and the international fascination with all things Puig led to the band being repped in every medium imaginable, from ESPN to the sports sections of major newspapers to Puig himself listening to the band he inspired at the MLB FanCave. (He deemed it “very good.”) A vinyl release on The Ghost Is Clear Records quickly sold out and is fetching big money on secondary markets. Their follow-up digital EP, Wait for Spring, also did well on Bandcamp.

Now, only a year and change later Puig Destroyer has returned just in time for the 2014 MLB Postseason with their debut self-titled full-length record that will undoubtedly whip fans into a frenzy. The album features 20 bat crackin’ tracks like “No One Cares About Your Fantasy Team,” a furious 49 seconds of frustration, “Tommy John,” a track solely dedicated to the infuriating losses due to ulnar collateral ligament reconstruction, and “Underdog,” a bench-clearing, motivational ass-kicker.

Puig Destroyer Track List:

1. Baseball: The Best

2. Umpshow

3. No One Cares About Your Fantasy Team

4. No Hitter

5. Flags Fly Forever

6. Three True Outcomes

7. Take Damage

8. Trumbomb

9. Top Prospect

10. Call To The Bullpen

11. Wild Horse

12. Attrition

13. The Road To Omaha

14. Underdog

15. Twin Killing

16. No Pepper

17. Tommy John

18. Stealing Signs

19. Batflip

20. Mike Trout