The Cinema announced today the pre-sale for their upcoming new album Talking In Your Sleep. The full length album, which officially releases December 16th, is the second in the band’s discography – following 2011’s My Blood Is Full Of Airplanes. The band formed as a side project of Lydia‘s frontman Leighton Antelman and Atlanta based producer Matt Malpass back in 2011.

The Cinema, known for their electronic infused indie-rock style came to be as a collaborative effort from Malpass’ interest in electronic-influenced music and Antelman’s eagerness to dabble with something new, outside of Arizona’s Lydia. The Cinema‘s sound is often compared to that of The Postal Service, the side project of Ben Gibbard from Death Cab For Cutie.

The creation of this new album began at the end of 2012 – well before it’s release. Balancing two very different yet equally hectic schedules, the writing, recording, and production processes continued into early this year stretching from coast to coast – as the two band members live on opposite sides of the country.
Coming now three years after the band’s debut album, it’s safe to say this release has been a long time in the making. Posting videos, clips, and hints across The Cinema‘s social media pages – Antelman and Malpass have been teasing this release for quite some time; adding to the anticipation of new music from fans. Praise of My Blood Is Full Of Airplanes, (“It’s fantastic, dare I say one of the most notable releases of the past year” – Mike Hogan, Under The Gun Review) comes in unison with the individual acclaim for both Malpass’ and Antelman’s contributions to the record. “Living up to the hype and more, The Cinema truly escalates the talent of Leighton Antelman and Matt Malpass to a different level” – Ryan Gardner, Absolute Punk.

If the critics feel anywhere near the same about Talking In Your Sleep, than The Cinemawill have proved the new record to be well worth the wait for fans. 

The Cinema worked with several other talents from the industry on this new album. Talking In Your Sleep features guest vocals from special guests on a couple of the tracks. Aaron Marsh (Copeland) sings on “Turn It On” and Mindy White (States) is featured on “Punchline”.

As of today, fans can pre-order digitally through iTunes and in doing so will receive an instant download of “Call It In The Air”, one of the tracks off the upcoming album. Alternatively, fans can pre-order a physical copy of Talking In Your Sleep in a merch bundle from





1. Call It In The Air
2. Turn It On (ft Aaron Marsh)
3. Crazy
4. She Knows
5. Ghost
6. Punchline (ft Mindy White)
7. Talking In Your Sleep 
8. Dancing Round Me
9. Weekend
10. Going Down