My Morning Jacket Unveil Previously Unreleased Song, “John Dyes Her Hair Red”

My Morning Jacket have released “john dyes her hair red,” a previously unreleased new song included as a bonus track on THE TENNESSEE FIRE: DELUXE EDITION, an epic 20th anniversary celebration of their now-classic debut album. “john dyes her hair red” is available at all DSPs now. THE TENNESSEE FIRE: DELUXE EDITION includes all 16 original tracks alongside 16 previously unreleased demos, outtakes, alternate versions and more. The newly expanded edition arrives via Darla Records on Friday, August 2; A signed edition of the record, which includes a screenprint created by Status Stereograph, will be available only at the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Of the track, James says: “this is one of the first song poems i ever wrote- i always liked the idea of a song being this little picture or puzzle, and not necessarily having to “mean” something or be about some big story or have tons of linear lyrics, but more just painting a weird little scene. i have always tried to make my music gender neutral when it comes to love or romance for the most part, so that a person of any gender could experience a song and not feel excluded if i was using “he’s” or “she’s” or whatever and this is an early experiment with that, of a person named john, which is traditionally a “male” name, who is dying her hair red and sitting in the shower til it all turns back brown- and maybe one would think- “well why did she ever even dye her hair red in the first place?”

My Morning Jacket will commemorate this momentous occasion with “My Morning Jacket Presents: A Tennessee Fire 20th Anniversary Celebration,” set for Friday, August 9 at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, NY. Long sold out, the one-night-only live event will see the band perform THE TENNESSEE FIRE in its entirety, along with other classic songs from the era.

In addition, next week will see My Morning Jacket lighting up the world famous Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, CO with two sold out headline dates, set for August 2 and 3. The band wrap its 2019 summer run with an eagerly awaited headline date at Queens, NY’s Forest Hills Stadium on Saturday, August 10 – limited tickets and VIP packages are available HERE. For updates and more, please visit

$1 from every ticket purchased for all My Morning Jacket summer live dates will benefit My Morning Jacket’s Waterfall Project, with beneficiaries including Access Reproductive Care-Southeast (ARC), GreenWave, and The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). For complete details, please visit


1. Heartbreakin Man

2. They Ran

3. The Bear

4. Nashville to Kentucky

5. Old Sept. Blues

6. If All Else Fails

7. It’s About Twilight Now

8. Evelyn Is Not Real

9. War Begun

10. Picture of You

11. I Will Be There When You Die

12. The Dark

13. By My Car

14. Butch Cassidy

15. I Think I’m Going to Hell

16. Alabama Come Clean


1. John Dyes Her Hair Red

2. Flew in on a Dead Horse

3. Yellow and Strobe

4. Lil Billy (Demo)

5. Evelyn is Not Real (First Version)

6. All This Joy Brings Different Feelings

7. Finger on the Frog

8. Gifts

9. Weeks Go by Like Days (Alternate Version)

10. Plasma Ball

11. Breathin’ Afterbirth

12. Heartbreakin’ Man (First Version)

13. I Think I’m Going to Hell (Two Meter Session)


1. If All Else Fails (First Version)

2. The Bear (First Version)

3. The Bear (Third Version)



2 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre – SOLD OUT

3 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre – SOLD OUT

9 – Port Chester, NY – Capitol Theatre – SOLD OUT

10 – Queens, NY – Forest Hills Stadium