WhoHurtYou Release Music Video for New Single, “Nobody Wins”

WhoHurtYou, the new duo comprised of All Time Low guitarist Jack Barakat and singer/songwriter Kevin Fisher aka Sweet Talker, have released “Nobody Wins”, the second track off their forthcoming Stages EP, expected later this year on Fueled By Ramen. “Nobody Wins” is available to stream and download now HERE. Watch a music video for the track, directed by Jade Ehlers now below!

“This song is about the guilt you feel after ending a relationship with someone. Sometimes it seems like one person ends up in better shape than the other, but that’s almost never the case. It’s an extremely personal song that took everything we had already written to a whole new level. We felt it was important to share it with the world. No matter how shitty you’re feeling in the end, it’s important to remember that nobody wins,” shares WhoHurtYou.

During the writing process for All Time Low’s chart-topping seventh album Last Young Renegade, Barakat befriended Fisher, who co-wrote “Life of the Party” and “Dark Side of Your Room.” After both artists entered therapy following bad breakups, they reunited in the studio with no agenda beyond self-expression in the Fall of 2018. After two sessions, their musical union crystallized as WhoHurtYou. Each track on their forthcoming Stages EP will explore a different stage of “breakup grief”.

Following a brief introduction to the project, Barakat and Fisher formally announced WhoHurtYou and confirmed their signing to Fueled By Ramen in an exclusive interview with Billboard earlier this summer. The duo also spoke about the project’s origins and their personal experiences in therapy in recent features with PopCrush, Alternative Press, PopCulture.com, Kerrang, and Rock Sound.

“Nobody Wins” follows the duo’s debut single “Wish We Never Met”, which is available to stream and download now HERE. The track’s music video sees Barakat and Fisher undergo treatment to have the women that have hurt them removed from painful memories. Watch it HERE. Alongside the release of the single, WhoHurtYou unveiled the “Wish We Never Met-erator”, which allows Twitter users to instantly delete all of their interactions with an account, one Tweet at a time, or all at once.

Bonding over influences ranging from Robyn to Japanese House, WhoHurtYou unlocked an upbeat and undeniable style rooted in neon grooves, off-kilter guitars, and irresistible choruses. Dubbing it “dark pop,” candid lyrics unspool like a post-heartbreak commiseration convention between buddies. Teaming up with friend and producer Sean Myer [Ava Max, Bazzi, Maggie Lindemann], the recording process marked a series of firsts for the pair. After years of focusing on guitar, Jack wrote lyrics for the very first time. Meanwhile, Kevin not only wrote lyrics, but also stepped into the role of lead vocalist for the first time. Out of everything, Jack and Kevin minted a lifelong friendship and musical partnership.