NICOLAAS Shares New Single, “Daydream” Featuring Millionyoung

Canadian music producer NICOLAAS has released his latest single, “Daydream” featuring Millionyoung. Released September 6th and available via Haven Sounds, “Daydream” is a dance-fueled, trippy yet chill escape featuring vocals from indie-electronica artist Millionyoung. Listen to the track now below.

“Daydream” follows the release of NICOLAAS’ debut electro/disco-fueled single “No Stranger Thing feat. Lucy Mason” earlier this year and his recent groovy single “Real Escape.” Official remixes for both tracks are also available by Pages and Louis La Roche for the former and Disco Despair for the latter.

NICOLAAS marks a new beginning for Rob Bakker. As a revered rapper and producer in the world of hip-hop under the pseudonym Muneshine, his compositions dominated the underground Canadian scene, earning him multiple Juno Award nominations, a Much Music Video Award nomination, and a win of the prestigious SOCAN Songwriters Award. As Muneshine, he’s collaborated with a noteworthy list of artists including Tom Waits, Pete Rock, Sean Price, D-Sisive, DJ Spinna, and more. While critically fulfilled, Rob was exhausted musically and had creatively hit a wall. “Everything was mundane. The sounds I relied on went stale,” he explains. “My structures and content…nothing excited me. I needed something new and I needed to wrap it in a shiny new package. My greys needed some neon.” To do this, Rob turned up the BPMs and pulled from inspirations he’d never dreamed of accessing – genres he admired from a distance like disco, house and funk, as well artists such as Nile Rodgers, Blondie, Daft Punk and Toro Y Moi. He began creating like he’d never created before. “I abandoned the style of sampling and reworking someone else’s song and wrote my own melodies. The energy felt alive. I felt born again.” To complete the transformation, Rob decided to retire the pseudonym he was so well known for and identify by his middle name, NICOLAAS.