Conan Gray Shares Video for “The Story”

Today, buzzing 21-year-old bedroom pop singer-songwriter Conan Gray has shared the music video for his latest song “The Story. The broadcast premiere on MTV Live and mtvU and on the Times Square Viacom Billboard.

The song heralds the arrival of his anticipated full-length album, Kid Krow, landing in stores and at all digital retailers on March 20.

On the video Conan stated: “I wrote the story about what it was like to grow up in Texas. It often felt like it was me and my friends vs the world. Small town kids don’t really escape and make futures for themselves, but we all had missions to get out of Texas. I wanted the video to feel like those days— just roaming around our ghost town wishing we could escape; surrounded by all these memories and stories that shaped us into who we are; but also caused us a ton of pain. I wanted the video to be a reminder of hope as well. Even though the pain of the past still haunts me, I made it out. My future didn’t seem bright, but it wasn’t the end of the story.”

His most personal and poignant visual yet, the video for “The Story” brings the lyrics to life. Conan walks alone in a rustic and rural nondescript Southwestern suburb, hopping in the back of a truck before visiting a tiny old home. He recounts the trials and tribulations of the characters in the verses, delivering a palpable performance outside in the rain under the shadows of rolling hills and the ghosts of lost souls. As the tune promises, “It’s not the end of the story, and “The Story” closes with a quiet triumph for its subjects.

Pre-order Kid Krow HERE via Republic Records.

The pre-order includes instant grat downloads of previously released fan favorites such as current single “Maniac,” “Comfort Crowd,” and “Checkmate” as well as the brand-new song “The Story.”

Stream “The Story” Here and Check Out “The Story” Lyric Video Here!

Music from Kid Krow has already resonated in a big way. Songs from the album have been streamed upwards of 92 million times, including the album’s current single “Maniac” [51 million streams], “Comfort Crowd” [19 million streams], and “Checkmate” [22 million streams]. Produced by frequent collaborator Daniel Nigro, it unfolds as a cohesive vision and hints at the expanse of his world. See full tracklisting for Kid Krow below.

As the story goes, Conan Gray found a way out of his tiny Texas hometown by building his own musical world from nothing more than Garage Band and a cheap microphone taped to a lamp.

Within two years since uploading “Idle Town, he quietly climbed to the forefront of pop on the back of his debut EP, Sunset Season [Republic Records], and a string of successful singles. Amassing upwards of 300 million streams, he garnered acclaim from VogueVMANTeen VoguePaperThe FADERMTVi-DBillboardSeventeen, and OnesToWatch, to name a few, made his television debut on Late Night with Seth Meyers, and transformed peers such as Billie EilishBTSThe 1975Brendon UrieTroye SivanLewis Capaldi, and Noah Cyrus into ardent and vocal fans. Prior to the release of a proper full-length, he sold out three North American headline tours and a European headline tour in addition to supporting Panic! At The Disco and performing at Lollapalooza. He will be playing Coachella in 2020.

Kid Krow Tracklisting

  1. “Comfort Crowd”

  2. “Wish You Were Sober”

  3. “Maniac”

  4. “(Online-Love)”

  5. “Checkmate”

  6. “The Cut That Always Bleeds”

  7. “Fight or Flight”

  8. “Affluenza”

  9. “(Can We Be Friends?)”

  10. “Heather”

  11. “Little League”

  12. “The Story”