Palomino Blond Shares New Single, “Damage” and Announces Split With Las Nubes

Two of Miami’s most promising bands, Palomino Blond and Las Nubes, have joined together to release a split EP due out March 13th on BuFu Records. In anticipation of the release, Palomino Blond shared their emotionally empowering single “Damage”, which can be streamed here or below.

“Damage” fluidly blends punk-pop and garage rock with singer Carli Acosta’s too-cool-for-school vocal sound highlighted by punchy drums and some serious guitar shredding. The track alludes to the band’s side of the split which packs raw energy and unbridled choruses, while Las Nubes songs transition from melancholy dream-pop to blistering punk rock sung in English and Spanish. Both sides of the split were recorded and mixed by Jonathan Nuñez of Miami heavy legends Torche and mastered by Zach Weeks at GodCity Studio. You can pre-order the split now via Bandcamp and find the tracklisting below

Acosta said of “Damage”:

“I wrote “Damage” when first line, “my thoughts, are they really so thoughtful at all?” came to mind and I just kept writing because it felt urgent. It was mostly me finally being honest with myself about how closed-off and kind of dishonest I was being about my emotions at the time. The tail end of the songs spins out into a guitar solo and dueling lead section that is always fun to play live.”

Alongside the announcement of the split, both bands have been tapped to play Miami’s iii Points Festival this May alongside The Strokes, Robyn, Wu-Tang Clan, and more. Tickets are available here now.

Palomino Blond are a Miami, FL-based quartet formed in late 2017 by dual-fronted guitarists and vocalists Carli Acosta and Kyle Fink. The duo self-released the 2018 Demos EP and shortly thereafter added bassist Raven Nieto and drummer Jake Karner (also of The Polar Boys). Early 2019 saw the release of the “Creature Natural” single and video causing a stir locally – with the Miami New Times even going as far to say that “Palomino Blond is taking Miami by storm” and calling it one of The 20 Best Miami Songs of 2019. The band’s early organic success in the SouthEast US has led them to sharing the stage with The Black Lips, A Place to Bury Strangers, and Chastity Belt, while their live performance has drawn comparisons to The Smashing Pumpkins and Sonic Youth.

Recently named Best Band by the Miami New Times, Las Nubes have become one of “South Florida’s most beloved bands – a distinction they’ve earned through hard work and infectious hooks.” The band’s core trio consists of of Ale Campos (guitar/vocals), Nina Carolina (bass/vocals), and Emile Milgrim (drums), along with rotating live members Steph Taylor (The State Of), Gabriel Duque (Zeta), and Cuci Amador (Afrobeta). Their debut album, SMVT, released via the SRR Label in summer 2019, found the band receiving praise from NPR Alt.Latino, BrooklynVegan, and Razorcake to name a few. To date, Las Nubes has shared stages with The Coathangers, Sheer Mag, Torche, and more. Most recently, they performed as Iggy Pop’s backing band for a GUCCI x Snap event in December 2019 during Miami Art Week, making them the first all-female lineup of The Stooges.


1. “Demonize” – Las Nubes
2. “Tararear” – Las Nubes
3. “7th Heaven” – Palomino Blond
4. “Damage” – Palomino Blond