Waxflower Signs to Rude Records and Releases New Single, “Sixteen Floors”

Brisbane pop-punk quartet Waxflower have revealed their newest single “Sixteen Floors,” a poignant and honest ode to heartbreak. The band has shared that all proceeds from the track will be donated to Black Lives Matter and Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service.

Drawing from personal experience, frontman Tristan Higginson explains: “‘Sixteen Floors’ was written at the end of a relationship, and along with my anxiety and panic disorder I was facing a new kind of sadness, with the backbone of my emotional support system gone. The song served as a vessel for all the negative thoughts and emotions that I wanted to externalise, but couldn’t. I remember that writing session being very fast, and very cathartic.”

Fresh from releasing a trio of standout singles, Waxflower has again teamed up with acclaimed producer Stevie Knight (Stand Atlantic / Yours Truly / Between You & Me). The resulting “Sixteen Floors” accesses a vulnerability and honesty that demands attention.

Now signed to European heavy-weights Rude Records (American Hi-Fi, Blood Youth, Set It Off, The Maine), the band looks to capitalize on their extensive touring schedule, which saw them hit the road with Between You & Me, Stand Atlantic, Sly Withers & more as well as supporting US giants Simple Plan, by starting to push the boundaries globally.

Taking reference from 2000’s legends Kisschasy & Jimmy Eat World, Waxflower merge nostalgia with progressive melodies and catchy hooks to bring a genuine and unique perspective on alternative rock.